On March 27, 2018 Information Technology Services will be approving the Windows 10 Fall Creator’s Update (a.k.a. Windows 10 1709) for installation via our internal Windows Update Server. If your computer is running a version of Windows 10 which is older than 1709 it will be updated to this latest version. Computers running any version of Windows older than Windows 10, such as Windows 7 or Windows 8.1 will NOT be affected by this.
You will not have to do anything to receive this update as it will be applied in the background like any other update to Windows. The main difference you will notice with this feature update is that when you restart your computer after being prompted that there are updates to be applied, the restart will take longer than normal; usually about 20-30 minutes, give or take.
NOTE: Your files, settings, and data will be unchanged by this update however we do remind you that we recommend you frequently back up your important files and data to a network drive, OneDrive, USB thumb drive, external hard drive, or some other medium.
If you would like to see what to expect during the upgrade process read on below!
Should you open the Update & Settings section of your Settings application and look under Windows Update you might see something like this as the update is being downloaded from our update server and is installed to your system:
Once the update has been downloaded and applied to your system you would see this:
Note that if you like, you can choose to schedule the restart at a later time here:
However if you aren’t checking the Settings application and you just attempt to restart your computer the dialog may look slightly different:
You may also receive other prompts to restart that can come as a pop up window or notification toast.
Note once more that if you receive this notice you may choose to restart and install now or pick a different time:
Once you choose to restart or your system restarts at the time you chose you will see this:
Your computer will restart and then you will see this:
Finally, once your computer has likely restarted a few more times you will see your normal login screen:
Once logging on with your normal credentials Windows will have a few more items to take care of and you will see the following screens:
Finally, you will be back at your normal desktop.
At this point the update has been applied and you can use your computer as you normally do. If you would like to know what some of the changes are in this update Microsoft has a blog post on that very subject:
If you have any questions, problems, or concerns please contact the ITS Solutions Centre at (403)329-2490.